June 25, 1995

Lacon Sheppard aced the tenth hole at Dixie Golf Club with a six iron. Playing with him were Richard Hodges, Lavon Moss, Mac Haynes and Robert Sharp.

June 26, 1960

The Glade Braves whipped the Shady Grove Senators, 10-7, as Dwain Padgett picked up the pitching win.

June 26, 1980

Cable TV of Laurel won the Industrial League Division A softball title with a perfect season. Team members were Clyde Smith, Tim Lightsey, Mike Lightsey, Pat Lightsey, Terry Bush, Robert Scarbrough, Ronnie Scarbrough, Cecil Ward, Sonny Saul, Steve Buchanan, Virgil Darnell and John Thomas.

June 26, 1960

The Barney Poole coached Laurel Junior American Legion All-Stars downed Meridian, 4-1, behind the two-hit pitching of Jimmy Jones.

June 26, 1995

Shorty Pulliam recorded a hole-in-one on the tenth hole at Dixie Golf Club using a 7 iron. Jerry Reynolds, Mark Ellzey and Bob Barrett were playing in the foursome with him.

June 28, 1980

Laurel High School golfer Chris Easterwood signed with Mississippi State. Easterwood was a three-time Most Valuable Player for the Tornadoes. He finished second in the MHSAA state golf tournament.

June 28, 1990

LSU All-American Chris Jackson, a Gulfport native, was selected fourth overall in the NBA draft. Ole Miss All-American and Greenwood native Gerald Glass was selected by Minnesota with the 20thpick overall. It was a Mississippi first to have two players chosen in the first round.

The Dodgers defeated the Yankees, 6-3, in Dixie Major play. Winning pitcher Mace Cooley hurled a four-hitter and singled. Shane Jones and Mark Quinn added doubles for the Dodgers. Michael Gavin singled, doubled and tripled for the Yanks.

June 29, 1990

58-year-old Fran Pavesic threw a no-hitter in local softball play as Central Hydraulics downed KFC, 10-0. Pavesic faced only 22 batters.

Heath Graham threw a no-hitter in Dixie Majors play as the Royals blanked the Orioles, 5-0. Graham fanned nine and walked five batters. He also singled while Chuck Boyd and Jason McCullum each had two hits for the winners.

Steve Cooley and Shane Herrington of South Jones have signed baseball scholarships with JCJC. Dwain Strickland coached them in high school.

June 30, 1980

The Laurel Dixie Majors 17-18 year old team was slated to host the World Series at Legion Field. The squad was selected by league coaches and was to be coached by Dale Buckhaults, Tody Lyons and Buddy Holifield. Team members were Greg Rodgers, Jay Reeves, Jeff Moss, Steven Kenny, Blane Alsworth, Simmy Cooley, Tim Wheat, David Freeman, Chip Geiger, Junior Bragg, Mark Johnson, Smokey Jordan, Mike Thornton, Kendall Norwood, Rocky Purvis and Joey Kitchens. Alternates were Bo Coffin and Buddy Brandon.

Recommended for you