mary margaret hyer.jpg

Miss Riverbend Mary Margaret Hyer

Hattiesburg native, Miss Riverbend Mary Margaret Hyer, was crowned the new Miss Mississippi for 2019 at the competition in Vicksburg tonight.

Hyer was also a double-prelim winner earlier in the week. Her social impact initiative is about organ donation.

Other finishing in the TOP 5:

4th – Miss University Blair Wortsmith

3rd – Miss Dixie Molly May

2nd – Miss Hattiesburg Macy Mitchell

1st – Miss Delta Charley Ann Nix

Others who finished in the TOP 10:

Miss All America City Grace McClanahan

Miss Greenville Leah Ann Boyd

Miss Natchez Trace Katelyn Elizabeth Brown

Miss Pontotoc Ridge Rachel Shumaker

Miss Rhythm & Blues Dana Wesley

group photo miss mississippi.jpg

Forty-five contestants are competing in the final Saturday night competition for the title of Miss Mississippi 2019.

Forty-five young ladies from across the state will be competing tonight in Vicksburg for the title of Miss Mississippi 2019. It’s been a busy week beginning on Monday with a parade, and then with evening gown and talent competition throughout the week.

The Pine Belt is well-represented with several contestants including Miss Riverbend Mary Margaret Hyer, a double-prelim winner, and Miss Hattiesburg Macy Mitchell, a prelim winner.

Preliminary winners are as follows.

WEDNESDAY PRELIM WINNERS: Miss Riverbend Mary Margaret Hyer was the preliminary winner in the Evening Wear/Social Impact Statement Competition. The preliminary talent was a tie between Miss Dixie Molly May and Miss Northeast Mississippi Lexie Harper.

THURSDAY PRELIM WINNERS: Miss Pearl River Valley Michaela Harper and Miss Deep South Mary Hulbert were the preliminary winners in the Evening Wear and Social Impact Statement competition. Miss Rhythm and Blues Dana Wesley was the preliminary Talent winner.

FRIDAY PRELIM WINNERS: Miss Hattiesburg Macy Mitchell was the preliminary winner in Evening Wear & Social Impact Statement. Miss Riverbend Mary Margaret Hyer was the preliminary talent winner.

QUALITY OF LIFE FINALISTS: Miss Southern Magnolia Lydia Myers, Miss New South Abby Stokes, Miss Pontotoc Ridge Rachel Shumaker, Miss Hattiesburg Macy Mitchell, Miss Tupelo Taylor Hughes, Miss MSU Hannah Oliver, Miss Vicksburg Alexis Murrell, and Miss Rankin County Kaylin Costello. Our Honorable Mentions were Miss Delta Charley Ann Nix, Miss University Blair Wortsmith, and Miss Dixie Molly May.

asya branch.jpg

Miss Mississippi 2018, Asya Branch

The final competition will be aired live in the Pine Belt area tonight at 8:00 pm on WDAM, as well as other stations throughout the state. The competition can also be seen live-streaming at missmisslive.com

The Miss Mississippi Corporation is the leading scholarship provider for women in the country. For several years the Miss Mississippi Corporation has led the nation in the amount of scholarships granted.

Recommended for you