Three new mayors elected in Jasper County municipal elections

Colorful fo election vote, hand holding ballot paper for election vote concept at colorful background.

Municipal elections were held in Jasper County tonight, and three new mayors have been elected in Bay Springs, Heidelberg, and Montrose.

Donald Brown came out on top in the Bay Springs mayoral race. Brown defeated long-time incumbent Mayor J.E. Smith 270 votes to 191 votes.

No aldermen faced opposition in Bay Springs, and each incumbent alderman – Steve Breland, Mike Lucas, Jimmy Knotts, Ron Keyes, and Bob Cook - will be returning for another term.

In Heidelberg, David Taylor II unseated incumbent opponent Wilbert J. Carr in the Heidelberg mayoral race. Four opponents were vying for the position. Taylor took 146 votes, and Carr finished with 44 votes. Robert F. Barnett secured 62 votes in the race, and Ezra Thomas garnered 34 votes.

In Heidelberg Board of Aldermen races, Verlina Morgan Forthner defeated Walter E. Jones with 35 votes to 16 votes in the Ward 1 race. In the Ward 2 election, Carolyn McFarland finished on top with 27 votes. Shelia McCurdy Pierce had 25 votes in that race, and Jennifer Bradley finished with 11 votes. The Heidelberg Ward 5 alderman election featured three candidates, and Delicia McCormick Henderson took the race with 36 total votes. Bobbie Jean Whitfield earned 26 votes, and Thomas M. Lewis took 25 votes. Dorothy H. Floyd and Richard A. Ball faced no opposition in the Ward 3 and Ward 4 races, respectively.

In Montrose, Randy James took the mayoral election over long-time Mayor Carl Gene Matthews with a 20-12 vote count.