You are the owner of this article.

Southern Miss SAAC holds 2019 Talon Awards

  • 1 min to read

The Southern Miss Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) held its third-annual Talon Awards on Monday night at Venture Church's Hunt Club campus.

The event served as an opportunity for student-athlete brother and sisterhood with an opportunity to celebrate each other's company and accomplishments over the past school year. There was an hour of mingling and food in the church lobby, courtesy of Buffalo Wild Wings, Keg and Barrel, McAlister's and Walk-On's.

Below were the some of the honors presented at the ceremony.

Golden Standard (member of team who best represents the team's culture):

Volleyball - Sarah Bell

Beach Volleyball - Olivia Hepworth

Soccer - JoAnnie Ramos

Cross Country - Vickey Hoppe

Men's Track - Thomas Peters

Women's Track - Keiyana Gaskin

Men's Golf - Charles-Eric Belanger

Women's Golf - Valeria Pichardo

Men's Tennis - ChungHan Tsai

Women's Tennis - Rikeetha Pereira

Baseball - Alex Nelms

Softball - Chase Nelson

Female Student-Athlete of the Year

Samantha Papp, softball

Male Student-Athlete of the Year

Picasso Nelson, Jr., football

Teams with the Highest GPAs

Men's Golf


Seniors who had the highest GPAs (as of December 2018)

Rachel Tedder, cross country

Rian Robinson, women's track and field

Chedlin Sagesse, men's track and field

Ola Akinniyi, soccer

Sarah Bell, volleyball

Kylie Grandy, beach volleyball

Philip Heine, men's golf

Valentina Haupt, women's golf

Megan Brown, women's basketball

Kevin Holland, men's basketball

Jorman Reyes, men's tennis

Jarod Wright, baseball

Samantha Papp, softball

Reid Ryals, football

Michael Gilbert Perseverance Award

John Warren, men's track and field

Male Athlete of the Year

John Warren, men's track and field

Female Athlete of the Year

Kylie Grandy, volleyball and beach volleyball

Recommended for you