Blast From the Past

September 16, 1961

Scott Coffield scored on a 65-yard interception and hit Kenny Biglane on 8- and 2-yard TD passes in leading top-ranked Laurel over Meridian, 32-0, before 7,000 fans. James Nichols and James Alexander also scored on short runs while Jimmy Keyes kicked a couple of conversions for Laurel. Glade downed Shady Grove, 19-6, as Sonny Walters passed and ran for scores for the winners. Walters passed 15 yards to Ronald Holifield and then ran 12 yards for a score. Holifield also ran 12 yards for another TD. Arnold James ran 20 yards for Shady Grove. Calvin Coleman, Henry Johnson, John Allen Thompson, Robert Rush, Billy Sloan and Lishus Husband all ran for touchdowns in leading Roosevelt over Smith County Training Center, 44-0.

September 17, 1996

Northeast was ranked 11th in the weekly AP high school football poll. Cecil Ward edged James Parks for the Bear Creek Golf Club Championship. O.E. Myers won the senior title over Snake Riser while Susan Thomas edged Barbara Peacock for the ladies title.

September 18, 1971

Carroll Nobles ran for 231 yards and scored once on a 75-yard run in leading Northeast Jones over West Jones, 32-6. John Jordan scored on a 14-yard run while James Jones and Ricky Ponder tallied on runs of 46 and 25 yards, respectively. Russell Brooks hit Nobles on a 36-yard pass for another Tiger score. Ben Staples kicked a couple of conversions. Archie Harper passed 36 yards to Gary Dykes for the Mustangs’ score. Benny Hinton, Jimmy Darby, Gerald Parker, Mack Harrison and Arthur Dixon scored rushing touchdowns while Jim Quinn scored on a TD pass from Harrison as Laurel blanked Picayune, 39-0. Luther Barnes scored on a 2-yard run, but South Jones fell to Poplarville, 16-7.

September 18, 1976

George County stopped South Jones’s 20-game winning streak with a 17-12 win. Donald Ray King scored on an 85-yard kickoff and Jay Jabous hit Dennis Bell on an 88-yard TD pass for the other SJ score. Ray Rooster Jones rushed for 174 yards as Pascagoula downed Laurel, 31-7. Ole Miss football was slated to visit USM for the first time since 1939 in a newly remodeled M.M. Roberts Stadium.

September 19, 1956

Glade downed Shady Grove, 19-0, as Stanley McGraw ran for one score and passed to Robert Bryant for another. Larry Padgett scored on a 40-yard run and also added the extra point for Glade. Laurel ran over Newton, 33-13, as Wayne Kittrell scored four times for the Tornadoes.

September 19, 1981

Frankie McBride passed to Bubba Hathorn and Greg Wells as West Jones blanked George County, 20-0. Phillip Manning hit Reggie Smith on two TD passes and added a rushing score as South Jones edged Monticello, 21-15. Columbia blocked a field goal in the final seconds of the game to edge NE Jones, 18-12. Barry Clayton scored on runs of 3 and 5 yards for the Tigers.

September 20, 1966

Ray Glenn hit Larry Welborn on two TD passes while Jimmy Gipson and Larry Harrod rushed for scores as Northwest Jones blanked West Marion, 29-0. Billy Brownlee ran for a score and passed 20 yards to Randy Stevens as Northeast Jones edged Richton, 14-12. Reggie Shoemake’s two kick conversions were the difference. Billy Ray Carey returned a kickoff 95 yards for the only Richton score.

September 20, 1971

Archie Manning made his first start in the Saints’ season opener and scored on a one-yard run on the final play of the game as the Saints upset the L.A. Rams, 24-20. Mike Lawson scored on a 72-yard pass from Jimmy Howard, but JCJC fell to Gulf Coast, 27-8.

September 21, 1996

Cedric McDonald’s rushing touchdown led West Jones over Magee, 27-26 in overtime. Darren Welch passed 10 yards to Mark Barron with 10 seconds to play in regulation to tie the game at 20-20. Alrekus Graves added TD runs of 15 and 67 yards for the Mustangs. Harold Beech scored twice and rushed for 198 yards as South Jones whipped Pensacola, 31-14. Wayne County defeated Laurel, 26-14, as Derrick Terrell rushed for 214 yards and scored on runs of 14 and 23 yards. Tim Weathersby scored on 18 and 5 yard runs for Laurel. Nick Cochran, Rocky Ford, James Nobles, Michael Stevens and Jason Arrington all scored rushing touchdowns in leading Northeast Jones over Mendenhall, 33-23.

September 22, 1986

Shelton Gandy scored four rushing touchdowns in leading Southern Mississippi over Mississippi State, 28-24.

September 22, 2001

Brett Jones scored on runs of 1, 4 and 12 yards and passed to Thad Gibbs for 28 yards for another score as Laurel rolled over Pearl River Central, 39-0. Quitman downed South Jones, 33-19, as Jeff Boone and Seth Thompson scored on 1-yard runs. Nathan Jack hit Eric Jefferson on a 5-yard pass while Daniel Rustin ran 7 yards in leading Northeast Jones over Florence, 20-12. Travis West kicked field goals of 37 and 42 yards for the Tigers.